1. Home

2012 Coming Attractions: Heart of Thomas by Moto Hagio

By September 25, 2011

Follow me on:

Thomas no ShinzoAfter letting this blog snooze for a while, I'm catching up on some recent noteworthy news. One very exciting development is Fantagraphics' recent announcement that they'll be publishing Moto Hagio's landmark story, Heart of Thomas (Thomas no Shiinzo) in 2012, as a complete-in-one-volume 480-page hardcover saga.

Originally published in 1974, Heart of Thomas is considered to be one of the earliest examples of boys love manga, a genre that has since evolved into a hugely popular and diverse part of Japanese comics.

Heart of Thomas is set in an all-boys boarding school in Germany, and centers around a two boys, Thomas and Juli. As the story opens, Thomas commits suicide and leaves a note for Juli, his friend and unrequited crush. This event leaves Juli shaken to his core -- but things get complicated when a new student enrolls in the school, and just happens to resemble Thomas.

Fans of A Drunken Dream and Other Stories will also be glad to hear that Matt Thorn, the translator of this critically acclaimed book will also be handling the editing/translation duties on this title as well.

Look for Fantagraphics to share more information about this title as 2012 nears. In the meantime, if you haven't already done so, check out my interview with Moto Hagio from Comic-Con 2010, and see a gallery of the art of Moto Hagio too.

Image credits: Moto Hagio / SHOGAKUKAN

Comments

Comments are closed for this post.

Leave a Comment


Line and paragraph breaks are automatic. Some HTML allowed: <a href="" title="">, <b>, <i>, <strike>

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.